About the ads

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

encouragement for those who bombed step 1 like me

Discussion in 'Step II' started by airmax81, Oct 27, 2007.

1. This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. airmax81

airmax81

Medical Student

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    i did moderately well during basic science years (M1-M2), never honored anything, and aside from not passing physiology and having to re-take the exam over the summer, i didn't fail any other courses.

step 1, i studied the "standard" 4-5 weeks x10-12hrs a day using Kaplan Qbank and my own review books. that's honestly the hardest i've every studied in my life. I took the test and walking out i didn't feel good about it.
    my score came back 4 weeks later... 182 = pass by the hair on my chinny chin chin

i was hoping to match into an emergency med residency (mildly competetive but increasingly so) and so this was a huge discouragement.

during 3rd year, i worked hard and changed my study method a little bit.
    after not scoring well on my first shelf (medicine), i started incorporating questions into my study regimen to a greater degree.
    ie instead of going through a Pre-Test book 1 week before my shelf and going through a book like Case Files (to supplement reading from other review books like Blueprints- which i never finished for any rotation), i went through
    Pre-Test 2x and Case Files 2xs before each shelf (this would usually take at least 2 weeks)

I'm not advocating either book, they worked for me, but my point is doing more questions helped me perform better on my shelf exams.