Engineer to Dental School - How should I ask my Manager for a recommendation letter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

judysmoothie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am working as a Mechanical Engineer currently and trying to get into dental school. I am having a little issues here about recommendations.

So I could get some recommendations from my professors but since I graduated more than 5 years ago, I am not confident how strong the recommendation letter swill be since they probably forgot about me. I am thinking about asking my boss for a recommendation since she knows me well and my company is a very well known high tech company so her title and the company name will help too, BUT I cannot let her know that I am planning to apply for dental school. Any suggestions on how should I handle this situation?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Most schools require letters from science professors.
Trying to get someone to write you a letter for dental school...but you don't want them to know you're applying to dental school?
That really makes no sense and it's not a good idea.

What I would do is get the dentist you've shadowed to write you one, assuming you have shadowing experience (If you don't that's a whole different problem).
Then try and contact old professors that can speak about your academic performance.

Hi Guys,

I am working as a Mechanical Engineer currently and trying to get into dental school. I am having a little issues here about recommendations.