Engineering then Med School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

playa4real

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So what exactly are the chances? The word on the streets is that you don?t necessarily need to have such a ?competitive? gpa (3.4-3.7), but I find that doubtful. I am a junior at Boston University majoring in electrical engineering and want to pursue medical school after graduating; however I currently have a 3.1. For my ECs, I am a resident assistant, Dean?s Host, and will be starting up a new organization this fall. It is a nonprofit organization that I plan to create through BU in which we perform community service in the Boston area. Along with the community service we will hold fundraisers, the money raised by these fundraisers will go to schools in India and will help bring teachers to schools that cannot afford them (all through Ekal Vidyalaya). I have worked at Boston Medical Center reading to little kids, but did not have enough time to continue this. I am trying to get a part-time job or perhaps research at one of the local hospitals, but haven?t really seen anything open. Basically, I just want to get some feedback from anyone that has any tips/advice for me to better my chances at med school or if anyone has been through a similar situation or knows people that have and can just help me out.

Please stick to the topic in this thread and thanks for any help in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

playa4real said: