English requirements?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dmf2682

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I saw in the MSAR book that something like 70% of schools require a year of college English. I'm an engineer and didn't have to take English courses, however I've demonstrated a proficiency in writing elsewhere (like in my job, masters thesis, etc). Is this requirement really a requirement or have people gotten around it? Seems silly to have to take English comp as part of my postbac courses.

Members don't see this ad.

This varies school by school. I was worried about the same thing in the beginning. My English requirements were satisfied by some Writing 20 class that was mandatory at my school and an AP Lit test. Oddly, they didn't take my AP Lang grade even though it was higher than lit. Each school is a little different.

It's been awhile but you might want to look into clep testing, if you have proficiency in writing you should have no problem passing a test and getting the credit hours.

Members don't see this ad :)
I saw in the MSAR book that something like 70% of schools require a year of college English. I'm an engineer and didn't have to take English courses, however I've demonstrated a proficiency in writing elsewhere (like in my job, masters thesis, etc). Is this requirement really a requirement or have people gotten around it? Seems silly to have to take English comp as part of my postbac courses.