ESL Teacher

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

haoran

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does a background in education at all look good on a medical school application? I graduated undergrad two years ago with a 3.7 GPA in Psychology, and I've been an ESL teacher ever since. I taught ESL for a year to blind students in a very poor part of China, followed by a year teaching elementary students in a low-income neighborhood in Rhode Island.

I'm starting my pre-med track this Fall, taking biology at HES, and I expect to be applying to medical school in about 2 years. In the meantime, I want to be working in a field that I can use on my med school application, but the only well-paying jobs I can find are teaching ESL.

Is my only option volunteer work, or does anyone know of people who have used their background in education in their favor?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'll let you know in a few months :)
I was a TEFL teacher for ~5 years and I'm in the application cycle now. I've heard positive things about teaching experience in terms of prep for medicine (try the search function, you'll find many old threads about this) and I certainly talk about those experiences in my app.

Does a background in education at all look good on a medical school application? I graduated undergrad two years ago with a 3.7 GPA in Psychology, and I've been an ESL teacher ever since. I taught ESL for a year to blind students in a very poor part of China, followed by a year teaching elementary students in a low-income neighborhood in Rhode Island.

I'm starting my pre-med track this Fall, taking biology at HES, and I expect to be applying to medical school in about 2 years. In the meantime, I want to be working in a field that I can use on my med school application, but the only well-paying jobs I can find are teaching ESL.