This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lexiegrey

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am going to be studying for the MCAT to take it in 2015, or 2016 (I am currently a sophomore at NYU undergrad). I've been debating on either getting the Examkrackers or the Kaplan study materials. I do have a long time to study, so time isn't the issue. I haven't yet finished all my pre reqs: ex. Biochem, Physics 2, Orgo 2 etc. since I am only a sophomore. The only science I have taken so far is Gen Chem 1 and 2, Orgo 1, and Physics 1.

Would you suggest getting the Examkrackers or the Kaplan?

Members don't see this ad.

Get them both. Examkrackers is great, but it's way too concise. Maybe its good enough for what you need for the MCAT, but I just don't feel safe reading it alone because it just feels too concise, and at least in my opinion, totally undermines the seriousness and difficulty of the test with all of the colorful illustrations that take up most the page.

But, what I do is I study from my main set (TBR, sometimes kaplan) and then after I finish all my passages, I skim through the Examcrackers section that covers the same topic. I like to reread the topic from another perspective, and see how Examcrackers "dumbs it down" for people, for a nice quick and digestible summary.

Get them both. Examkrackers is great, but it's way too concise. Maybe its good enough for what you need for the MCAT, but I just don't feel safe reading it alone because it just feels too concise, and at least in my opinion, totally undermines the seriousness and difficulty of the test with all of the colorful illustrations that take up most the page.