Failed COMLEX. Passed USMLE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rockscrubs

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I failed my COMLEX barely, but got a 250+ USMLE...I don't get it. Took my USMLE first and then took the COMLEX a few days later. My COMLEX was nothing like combank or the one comsae (B) that I took. I felt like I failed the exam after I took it and was semi-reassured that a lot of people feel that way. I have to obviously retake my COMLEX ASAP, but I'm not sure what DO surgical residencies will think...I was interested in rads, ortho and ENT and since I'm an average student, I was hoping my board scores would validate me.

Members don't see this ad.

That seems really strange - did you study mainly for the USMLE and just find yourself at a loss with the poor wording on COMLEX?

How did your score compare to the COMSAE score?

I'm honestly not sure what programs will think, but your USMLE score is really good, so I would think that even the DO programs would look at that and agree that something weird happened with the COMLEX.

Good luck!

sorry, but somehow i can't help believe this is a joke. you obviously knew the material well enough, even if you didn't study OMM, you still should've passed...

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
So, I failed my COMLEX barely, but got a 250+ USMLE...I don't get it. Took my USMLE first and then took the COMLEX a few days later. My COMLEX was nothing like combank or the one comsae (B) that I took. I felt like I failed the exam after I took it and was semi-reassured that a lot of people feel that way. I have to obviously retake my COMLEX ASAP, but I'm not sure what DO surgical residencies will think...I was interested in rads, ortho and ENT and since I'm an average student, I was hoping my board scores would validate me.