Failed Comlex Step 3 twice - HELP please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

racquetball

Resident Wronged
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have no idea how to study for this exam. I covered Crush, QBank, Savarese, ACLS and skimmed B&W. I have taken time out of residency to get this nightmare over with and now this slap in the face - failing again this week? Is this a fixed test? Are you kidding me? I studied an enormous amount (if I told you the hours you wouldn't believe me). Failed? I don't get it. I am well prepared - better than in med school. Comlex Step 3 is a joke. I am retaking in May now too - since that's the soonest that I can take it. I would rather take it in April but it has a 90 day interval required. PLEASE HELP. THanks

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe you're failing the OMM portions of the test. Are you in an allopathic residency?

First thing you need to do is relax....you can't help yourself when you feel so stressed and overwhelmed...remember, sometimes these things get the best of us...it says nothing negative about you. Take a few deep breaths, relax, and try to think back to the test and pick out what about it was difficult for you...certain topics?...the time limit?...way the questions were worded?...just plain pressure from taking a test?
Try to address the issues that plagued you during the test. If you feel like this test is just overwhelming and you can't do anything you haven't already done to improve your outcome, maybe you should think about taking a course where you are privately instructed by a tutor...I think those are around and, although expensive, may be worth looking into.
You may also think about getting a study partner...it may help you to not go about it alone.