Failed step 2 ck

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

glitterxo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a senior US medical student who found out that I failed the CK (196). I'm applying for general surgery. I had studied for the test off/on for over 5 months to improve on my poor Step 1 score of 195. I have a couple questions.

1. Is it possible to submit my ERAS w Step 1 score only? I'm planning to retake it mid november and to update programs of my passing score when it comes in early december

2. What is the best back up plan. My deans have said to apply broadly and primarily community programs, but that my best chances would be to get a prelim spot during the SOAP.

your advice is much appreciated as always

Members don't see this ad.

Hi glitterxo, if you already applied with your Step 1 score (only that was sent when you applied), then ERAS won't force you to re-release your Step 2 score. Take the exam again in November first and then release it. However if you haven't applied yet, you need to release both scores... since you don't have a choice to select which scores to send out (they all get sent).

Don't lose hope! Discuss with your advisors + deans who know you and your application well. Also I would suggest that you click/apply both "categorical" and "preliminary" for all gen surg programs you applied to (this is only if you haven't applied already). Also perhaps consider a research year (after graduation and also taking Step 3) based on what your advisors think and advise you.

Is general surgery generally competitive? What does everyone think?

1. As Soccerfifa said, if you haven't already submitted your USMLE transcript, then no, it's not possible to not submit your Step 2 score at this point. However, if you have already submitted your applications prior to Step 2 scores coming out, you are not obligated to re-transmit your scores at any time.