Failing out of medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Dizz

Dizzy
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it difficult to fail out of school meaning if you put a good amount of studying in, should you be able to pass all classes. Also, how many people generally fail out of DO schools each year? Does it differ in that some schools just have a harder curriculum than others and so more students fail? I would hope that schools give extra chances to students who fail some classes.

Members don't see this ad.

I am just an undergrad but will be attending med school next year. I have asked many people that very question including med school professors and students. From what I hear, you have to try to fail. Meaning if you put in reasonable study time, you will get through. Apparently the school will really work with you to get you your degree (tutor, study help...), especially in osteopathic schools. It seems the hardest part of med school is getting in :)

Sadly...it is not always the case....It is all dependent on where you apply and go to school. I have seen many of my classmates fail out of school...and it was one of the most painful experiences we had to go through....
Alot of things are promised and offered...but in all reality....they are not available.

Case and point..I am still waiting for my Gross Anatomy and Neuro tutor...and I am an MSIV.

Talk to people and CHOOSE wisely....you really only have one shot at what school you go to..and I am SURE others will echo my sentiment

Members don't see this ad :)
Yosh said: