Feel nervous about MCAT tomorrow, might sign up for July retake. Do I stand a chance with my stats?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

entresuspiros

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm keeping this short as I want to take the rest of the evening to relax and prepare for tomorrow.

I'm sitting tomorrow's MCAT and feel very nervous about my performance. I studied a lot for a January MCAT and didn't end up taking it as I got sick, so this will be my first time taking the test. I'm worried that if I get a low score (shooting for 510 based on speaking with post-bacc advisor and reading others' views on the 'net) I am setting myself up for a July retake and a delayed application. While I have put in the work, I am not a great test-taker. I know my strengths and weaknesses and have studied as much as I have been able to, despite overcommitting this semester, so I feel confident about a lot of the content but not every single thing.

My current plan is to submit the application with only one school just to get verified, wait for my MCAT score, then add schools that align with my stats (will apply broadly, at least 20-25 schools). Some schools send secondaries without the MCAT, so my plan for June and July is to pre-write secondary essays.

Now, if I don't get a good May score (<510) should I risk it and submit it anyway, or risk completing even later if I decided to wait for the July score? The latter would only apply if I manage to get a seat, which might not even be possible at this point.

Any and all advice would be welcome!

Here are my stats, just to give you a better sense of where I stand:
Non-science major, Anthropology for both BA and MA
Undergraduate gpa - 3.97
Graduate gpa - 3.87
Overall science gpa (including both undergrad and post-bacc science courses) - 3.64