Feeling discouraged... Am I just not cut out for this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aerd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Organic chemistry is killing me. I'm so overwhelmed by the sheer amount of studying I have to do every night just to finish the practice problems my professor assigns. I'm doing well in every other class. Bio is easy, I got an A in both freshman chem classes. I have a 4.0 (I'm a sophomore). But if I'm struggling this much in ochem, is that a good predictor of how much I'll struggle in med school?

I can't even think of another career I'd want to pursue, but this is just so discouraging right now. I don't know if I'm cut out for this much stress for the next 6 years. Can anyone please give me some advice? I really need it.

Members don't see this ad.

No it isn't, freshman year is easier, college is meant to get harder and then you adapt. Keep at it, you're doing great.

Do not let any one class dictate your ability to do well in something. Academics are only one part of being a physician, you have a 4.0 and are clearly "good at school" - whatever that means. Maybe you could study more efficiently? Go to your profs office hours and see if they have any insight.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Ochem is tough for many premedical students. Just work through practice problems and try to understand the processes of the mechanisms. Memorizing them will get you nowhere. Just remember, negatives go after positives :). Even if you dont do the greatest though, you ca still get it. I wouldn't be too worried about the difficulty just yet, you have a 4.0!

Have you had any exams or quizzes yet? If so, how did you do?