Feeling hopeless

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newbeginnings

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated 2 years ago from college and have been working and volunteering here and there since.. A few months before I graduated, I took the MCAT and did really, really horrible. I knew I was going to do bad because I didn't take any FL's before, and I basically had only done content review. But I submitted because my parents were incredibly pushy and would've been extremely upset if I had voided. That score to be honest really ruined my confidence and kinda made me depressed for a bit, to the point where I voided when I attempted it again. Well, fast forward to now, and I've regained all motivation to study, but now I don't have my family's support. They think I should never be a doctor: "you've already tried and failed the MCAT". That I don't have what it takes. Their second point is that I'm 24, a girl, and I should have been in my second year in med/dental/pharm school by now like my friends because "being a girl, age is important" and crap like that. My younger sibling had just received their score recently and did well (32) so I think that was a catalyst for their view of me.