Fellow Canadians.... Financing COSTat NYU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sarasam

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Canadian from Ontario and got accepted to NYU. I’d like you to share with me how you are paying for your tuition and living expenses.

NYU is around $95,000US (based on their budgeting sheet (that includes the tuition and cost of living). I am trying to get $150,000 CAD ($124000 US) as student loan from Royal bank of Canada (RBC), The Financial advisor at RBC said they will give me a portion of that 150000 loan over the four years.

I am also counting on 7,000 CAD (5800US) from OSAP every year.

That means I would end up with something around 44,500 CAD (36700 US). Since I am an international student I don’t think I can get any scholarship from the school.
I am very worried that if I can’t find a way to finance my education, I think I have to kiss my dream career good-bye. What are my best options to get the remaining ($58000 US)?

Members don't see this ad.

At first, ask your financial office/department advisor/director at your d-school, he or she had to deal with international students before...so they can figure that out.
GL.

Members don't see this ad :)
Can you do any military stuff?

As a Canadian, I can tell you right now that we cannot enlist in the American military at all. And the Canadian Military will not pay for you attend a dental school outside of Canada.

So, no.

Last edited:
I am very worried that if I can't find a way to finance my education, I think I have to kiss my dream career good-bye. What are my best options to get the remaining ($58000 US)?