Finance Major with a Biology Minor with a 3.2 GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ak10

Ak10
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
To anyone who wants to add any input or advice,

I am a junior Undergrad (21 years old) Finance major, and picked up a Biology minor last year, as I found that I want to contribute to the Medical industry somehow. Both of my parents are Doctors at Kaiser, and through their love I have learned the importance of health and implementing that on the masses. Personally, I am at stuck between crossroads as I like the thought of becoming a Doctor, particularly a Pediatrician, but I am obviously afraid that I do not have the grades for Medical school at the moment. I also like the thought of going into Finance, because there is clearly a higher likelihood that if I did go into the Finance field, I could begin to make a living a bit quicker than going down the Med school route. Personally, it is not about the money, but more about what is more beneficial for my time and simply finding a job that I enjoy and feel like I am making a difference in the world. I also am a Division 1 soccer player, therefore playing soccer for my profession has always been a thought, but I do not know if I could make a solid living doing so, especially playing in the States as there is not much exposure comparatively to areas such as Europe.

I think my biggest issue is I never feel capable or I have this little head in my mind telling me that I am not intelligent enough to pass classes or to succeed on my path to becoming a Doctor.

Is there anyone who has gone down this route or anyone who could give me advice on what I should do? I have no plans as of now for post-grad, only a few theories on what I think I should do, and are not set in stone.

Thanks, and God Bless

Members don't see this ad.

Have you done any internships in finance yet? I suggest you do that first to see if you enjoy it.