For those that changed careers into Optometry

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cdea

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What made you decide on this new field as a career. Also what backgrounds did you come from and how long were you in that field.

Members don't see this ad.

cdea said:
What made you decide on this new field as a career. Also what backgrounds did you come from and how long were you in that field.
cdea -- I was a software engineer for over 10 years before I decided to change careers to optometry. I had a great job, but I knew I couldn't see myself as a programmer or in management for the rest of my career. I started thinking about what other types of careers I might be interested in, and stumbled into optometry sort of by accident. I like the professional and scientific aspects of optometry, and the opportunity to interact with people. I especially like the portable accreditation of having an "OD" that will allow me to get a job (part-time or full-time, where the hours you work are under your control, not someone else's) just about anywhere after I graduate.

I am especially lucky that I have a wonderful husband who has supported my wacky lifestyle change into professional school student, it's been a crazy ride. :)

Are you a career-changer? What is your story?

r_salis,

Are you going to continue to program once you are in practice. The current EMR out there just are not that great for OD offices. I wish I had the skill of programming because designing my own office software would be great, not to mention profitable after you get all the bugs out of it. :D

Members don't see this ad :)