For UOP dental school graduates

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juan7677

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Someone in a another forum brought up a good point about UOP. The person told me that UOP graduates felt like they were not confident after graduation and felt like they were rushed in the 3 year program and wished they had more time. How true is this?

Members don't see this ad.

I posted this in the predent section- but it goes well here as a reply...

My cousin is applying or dental schools next year and showed me this site- I was perusing through some posts and just had to put in my 0.02. I am a graduate of UOP School of Dentistry and have realized one thing...

<b>Thank GOD I went to UOP.</b> Why is that? Here are some questions I am often asked about UOP.

1) <b> Are you ready in 3 years to goto GP? (general practice) </b>
A: YES. How many schools do you get to perform multiple crown units, bridges, posterior root canals, veneers, posterior composites, AND implants?? I am sure there are VERY few- but did they do it in three years? The key here is that UOP has ONLY 2 specialty programs- ortho & OMFS. If there's a difficult procedure to do- you cannot simply transfer it to a post graduate- <b>you have to do it</b> (posterior root canals, biopsies, perio surgery, etc...). You realize that this is a HUGE plus when you graduate. For if you're a GP- you feel comfy doing these procedures and keep the patient (and $$) in house instead of sending them away. And for those of you in California, if you're applying for associateships, many GPs ask that you be good with endos- as a UOP grad you'll def be ready for this.

2) <b>What is the tuition? </b>