Foreign medical students and Emergency Medicine electives?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Free2Dream

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I felt it was most appropriate to post this here in the physician/resident forum, but mods please feel free to move if it is better suited elsewhere.

I'm a third year medical student in Australia looking to move to the US (possibly permanently) to complete my residency in Emergency Medicine. My degree is 5 years and we are expected to complete an overseas elective between our 4th and 5th years (for me that will be January 2015).

Ideally I want to complete my elective in the emergency department of a hospital that I'd like to match at, however now that I've started getting in contact with prospective hospitals/universities, I've discovered a lot of them outright refuse to accept medical students from abroad in their emergency department (despite accepting them in IM and surgical electives). It's been really quite disheartening, mainly because I didn't expect such a response I suppose.

Is anyone able to offer insight as to why this may be the case? Is there a shortage of elective placements? Or are they concerned about foreign students not being up to par in their clinical abilities or spoken English? I could understand the latter could be an issue for some students, but us Aussies?

In addition, does anyone know if their emergency department accepts international students for electives?

Thanks so much, any responses are much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.