Future Employment and Finances for DOs (10 years in the future)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

notrack

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody

I am currently a nontraditional student (age 22) in the process of obtaining my prerequisites. I am still researching the whole process, especially financing medical education. I wanted to ask nontraditional students who have made it to medical school (preferably DOs) and residency if their decision was "financially sound." I am not drawn to profession because of financial reward (heck, there's many other alternatives that are much more rewarding), but because I want to find meaningful work--even if medicine can be a thankless profession at times.

Because I will most not likely be done with this process until I'm in my early thirties, I want know what the marketplace might be for DOs in primary care or geriatrics in 10 years?

Will there be enough opportunities to go around (I'm not picky about area or specialty)? Will the salary be enough to cover student loans, pay for a modest home, and save for retirement?

Will employment be volatile or stable?

Is Medicine undergoing the same structural changes seen the legal industry (impossible to pay student loans, very few opportunities in terms of employment if you graduate from a low ranked school, technology slashing many legal jobs)?

Will there be shortage or surplus of physicians in 10 years? If there is a surplus, will having a DO limit employment opportunities?

Here's some considerations that might impact future employment trends for DOs:
(1) Tuition and other fees at DO schools are usually higher than MD schools. At my current understanding, someone entering DO school today will face somewhere between 200-400K in debt without recapitalization/interest included in that sum.