Gap Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dejablue10

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am in need of some advice.

I am currently a junior in undergrad; therefore, theoretically, I would start applying for opt. school this summer to begin opt. school in the fall of 2016. However, I am going back and forth about whether I should take a gap year or not. Of course it'd be ideal to just jump right into applying and start school as soon as I graduate, but I'm not 100% set on that. A part of me wants to take a year off to work at an opt. office and continue with shadowing and volunteer to further build up my resume. Additionally, I've been going to school every semester, including every summer in between, so I feel like I could use that gap year to unwind and prepare for opt. school mentally and regain some energy.

Is there anyone who has taken a gap year, or two, that could provide me with their input? Or maybe someone who has considered it but has decided to just apply to opt. school right after undergrad. If you take a gap year do schools look at that as a bad thing? For example, do they see that as you waiting last minute to build up your application, and, therefore, you seem lazy or something long those lines? I'm really struggling with deciding, so I would really appreciate some input.

Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.