Gay Pre-Med: HPSP and USUHS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Asclepius293

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a pre med student applying to med school this upcoming summer. I've been really interested in going into military medicine through the HPSP program or the USUHS Military med school. I come from a big military family and I think it would be an honor and unique experience to care for military and their families while traveling and learning a ton as a physician.

I've done a lot of research into the cons of milmed but I think the pros still outweigh it for me and the life I want.

However, one thing that is holding me back is the fact that I'm gay. I'm not flamboyant or anything and it wouldn't interfere with my work, but I also don't want to hide completely and lie or put myself in a very negative situation socially. I've searched a few older threads on this but can anyone give some insight into if LGBT is as big of a deal today in the military, or for the USUHS students, any input on how this might factor into the school life?

I appreciate any comments or insight in general. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Don't ask, Don't tell. It's not an issue if you don't discuss it. Private lives are that, private.

Reactions: 2 users
Of course you can appropriately and reasonably discuss your private life.
It's all about being professional. My wife has come into my office. I talk about her and our kids. But I don't make out with her in public. A few of my corpsmen are gay and have mentioned their husbands. They've come by the office, but none of them are making out in the work spaces.
Yes, DADT was repealed, and you'll meet people in and out of the military who will judge (silently and vocally) your lifestyle, but combat that with professionalism.

Members don't see this ad :)