GED and pre med

SxpeRare

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone , I am a US permenant resident and want to move there next year, but got couple of problems, first is that next year I am going to be in 12th grade and I don't have a high school diploma because I moved each year to another country through high school.. My dream is to be a doctor or a podiatrist (80% of my family are doctors so I am completely serious). I cant attend my senior year in high school in the US because its too late, so I need to get a GED at a community college. I did a research about it, and it says that it's almost impossible to get accepted to pre med or even a 4 year college with a GED. What is your opinion about my situation? I got no counsler and all my family who are doctors studied abroad but I want to study in the US.

Members don't see this ad.

No one cares about your ged. Med schools only care about your performance in college. If you want you can explain the ged on secondaries if there is space.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
OP seems to be more concerned about getting into undergrad with GED qualifications rather than med school. To answer the question, it is possible.

Thank you everybody for your answers. Also can I major anything as long as I take the prerequisites for med school? And what do you think about going to community college for 2 years and then transfer to a 4 year college and complete the other two years there (if I won't make it to any 4 year college) is majoring radiation therapy a bad idea? (In case I won't get to med school I will still have a career) and I don't want to be a doctor because of my family.... Believe me in my country doctors earn 10 $ an hour while computer programmers earn 25$+ .. So I would rather be a computer programmer not a doctor..

what do you think about going to community college for 2 years and then transfer to a 4 year college and complete the other two years there (if I won't make it to any 4 year college)