General Housing Topic

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frootloops

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Personally, I feel that I should be living in a 1 bedroom apartment, but rent is making roommates seem so much more appealing. Any thoughts or experiences about having housemates in graduate school? I had housemates throughout undergrad and after I graduated for a bit, but there always seemed to be some sort of dramatic issue right before midterms or finals that I shouldn't have had to deal with in addition to just schoolwork. So, I would like to avoid that process by living alone. Unfortunately, I am pretty social and moving to a new place alone already seems to be daunting and I don't know if living alone will help that situation. I guess I am just looking for input about graduate student housing living situations...

Members don't see this ad.

I havent my OT program yet..but I have the same concerns as you regarding having a roommate. My sister told me that if I can AFFORD to live on my own then I should. Having a roommate can sometimes come with unneccesary drama that I wont need in grad school. What im planning on doing is just living on my own the first year and then if I get to know someone then maybe my sec. year ill have a roommate..

Fruitloops, I've been thinking along the same lines as you. I'm really drawn to a studio or 1 bedroom. These next 2 years are strictly about school for me and I don't want to be distracted. I worry as well about the cost, but my goal is to live alone.

Members don't see this ad :)