General pre-med research questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PullingThrough

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I got a couple questions about pre-med research:

- Does it help to have a research position in a medical school, or is any research position good enough?

- If you have a good position, should you try and stay in that position for a while (2-3 years) or should you keep switching labs and trying to get better positions? In other words, do med schools like seeing consistency?

- What are the best summer research programs for pre-meds?

- I'm also a freshman who did research over the summer and now have the opportunity to publish. I have the choice of trying to publish as a first author (I'd have to write the whole paper) or second author (I'd summarize my data maybe write some of the discussion). Since I'm still adjusting to the college life, publishing as second author would be more convenient. However, is there a really big difference between publishing as first author or second author? Does second author get any recognition? And will med schools distinguish these? (I'm trying to publish in a journal, by the way)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If you can get a research position in a medical school as a freshman in college, all the power to you.

Publishing first or second author is extremely impressive at the pre-med level. If you are concerned about the courseload and the first v. second, make an agreement with your co-author to do another paper, in which you will be first author, letting them be first author for this one. That way, you work it in with your schedule.

What type of research do you want to do? Clinical or basic science? Are you thinking about pursuing an MD/PhD?