Getting accepted to medical school does not define you.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

da8s0859q

Funny thing happened after I got my surprisingly poor 25R MCAT results back from my May administration: I realized that I am not defined by my capability to gain admittance to an MD program. I mean, it's important to me, and despite cumulative and science GPAs each being around a 3.9, I know that the MCAT greatly complicates things. I hope that the rest of my application helps balance that here in Texas. I still hope for some lovin' in the form of interviews from the several Texas MD schools to which I am applying. As for the MCAT thing, call it a defense mechanism to ward off not feeling so bad about that questionably useful score, if you'd like; you'd probably be right. Hell, I have a degree in psych, and I'd agree with you. You're probably right.

But so am I. ;)

One thing that SDN tends to foster is a certain neuroticism about getting into medical school. We've got tons of interview feedback, massive medically-themed forums, and hordes of freshmen and sophomores who are damn near petrified that they're not going to make it because they, in fact, have never even held an African baby, much less save its life. Or they're not spending more than 10 hours a week being a fly on the emergency department's wall. And then there are the people who take it upon themselves to insist that others, based on one aspect of their application, will not make it into a national MD program. (Yeah, I got a few of those.)

This is a wonderfully helpful website, but I think a little perspective would go a long way for a lot of us. In the long run, happiness probably won't be governed solely by the presence of "MD" or "DO" after our names. It's a means to an end, not the end itself. It's a job. It's a cool job, to be sure, but it's a job nonetheless.