Getting into DPT school with low undergrad GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daniel M. Pitta

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was a non-traditional student (print journalism/criminal justice double major) that finished with a 2.8 cumulative GPA from undergrad. My last 60 credits were brutal, as I had a D and a few C's. I made the decision to pursue PT a year ago and have been paying out of pocket for the prereqs ( of which there are many) while working full time, so it has been an absolute grind. Right now, I am staring down the barrel of taking 2 chem's 2 physics, abnormal psych and bio 2 this year, and also have to take the GRE next summer, so I'm very anxious and stressed.

I'm disconcerted at the fact that my low GPA from undergrad, when I was 21 years old, had no clue what I was doing, and was taking completely unrelated courses to the Health Science spectrum, will come back to haunt me on my PT application. The prospect of spending the amount of time and money it would take to finish with a strong prereq GPA and still not getting accepted to programs is enough to make my head explode. Are there many schools that don't put so much emphasis on undergrad GPA? This is the only career that I can see myself doing, and I've worked as a tech for the past 2 years.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user