This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

M(ediocre)D(egenerate)

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! This is my first time posting on here so go easy on me. And sorry it's long, I just wanted to provide all the facts!
Like many of you, I was a stellar student in high school, and got into my dream school: University of Notre Dame.
I entered directly into our Arts and Letters Pre-Health Program with a primary English major because (1) I love literature and (2) I think it is important as a primary care physician (what I would like to be) to be well rounded and able to connect with your patients on a level deeper than one's physical ailments--something that I have learned in my literature courses.
As a first generation college student from a mediocre high school, academics at a top 20 US institution have been a bit overwhelming, and in conjunction with some other stresses, I do not have the greatest GPA. For full transparency here are my grades:

English Major: 3.8 (invited into the honors program; will be writing a thesis on Irish literature)
Science GPA: 2.8 (completed all pre-reqs, will take biochem and anatomy next year)
Overall: 3.2
I have not taken the MCAT yet.
(I am also technically multi-cultural [50/50 Irish Spanish], with grandparents from the Basque Country in Spain [it's like being a Native American in the US], but I don't quite look it, so I do not think I would apply as a URM)