Getting into PA school? Modest GPA, 19,000hrs HCE, heavy graduate sciences.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BoneDC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am considering applying to PA school. I am looking to expand my scope beyond physical medicine (manipulation, exercise, rehab, etc). I would like some feedback on what my chances of getting accepted are based on my profile.

I am a non-traditional student. I am 33 years old. I have been working in the healthcare field for the past 7 years as a chiropractor. I have a BS ‘00 with and overall undergraduate 2.94 GPA with a 2.86 science GPA, but a 3.31 GPA in my last 60 hours of coursework. Basically my freshman and sophomore years killed my GPA. I finished my doctorate degree ’04 with an overall 3.31 GPA, with a 3.25 science GPA, and a 3.50 GPA in my last 60hrs of coursework.

Chiropractic school was very rigorous. It was a five year curriculum crammed into 10 trimesters with an average course load of 25 hours per term. I have over 106 hours of biology, chemistry, and physics coursework, over 65 hours of ‘other’ science coursework (kinesiology, radiology, sports medicine, nutrition, etc) and over 42 hours of patient assessment/clinical diagnosis coursework. All which I think strengthens my application. With undergrad and graduate coursework combined I have an overall 3.17 GPA with a 3.12 science GPA. Not that great I realize.

I have over 19,000 hours direct patient care (13,000 as a chiropractor, 6,000 as a tech in a psych hospital). I have yet to take my GRE.

I guess my biggest concern is that the CASPA program does not take into account any ‘professional’ coursework when calculating overall GPA and if you just look at my undergrad GPA I have less than a 3.0 GPA, which most schools require as minimum. A few of the programs I have been looking at want a 3.0 overall as calculated by CASPA, OR a 3.0 in the last 60 hours of coursework.