Giving up residency for postbac?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Serenitysweety

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am looking into postbac options. I am a florida resident and still reside in gainesville. BA from UF. I am struggling with wanting to attend an out of state postbac program for their structure and reputation. I figure, with a questionable past and gpa, one of the better programs will give me a leg up when it comes time to apply for med school. At the best, I can link. Of course, all under the assumption I can even become admitted.

But florida has so many med schools, and I am not opposed to DO at all so that just helps even more. I feel its a gamble to leave the state for postbac when I may be giving up my residency advantage. If I stay in florida, I am considering FIU or UNF. Not exactly top tier, but they are very affordable. If I do any other programs, I have little option but to take out private loans. This includes UF. Still, would taking my classes at these universities be seen as suspicious coming from UF?

And then, there's the spouse. He is in the film industry, really struggling to find meaningful work in gainesville, and wanting to move to New York. If he were to work up there, at least our financial situation would be more stable and I may not need to take out so much in loans. We do have kids to support.

I'm considering a few of the better known postbacs(goucher, harvard extension, ect) but I don't know if I should just keep myself planted in florida for the long haul.

I'm so unsure of what would be the best move for me right now. Any advice please would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.