Global health and EM -- which programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Handinhand

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've posted on here a few times before trying to get insight from everyone. I'm a 2nd year medical student pretty dead set on heading into EM in a few years.

I also have a pretty big interest in global health and GH research, something I've tried to get started in med school -- I spent two months in Vietnam last summer working on injury prevention with a local NGO. I've come to find though that the research I would like to do really isn't fit for a medical student, as most projects take years to develop and would never finish before I graduate, and I also don't have the medical knowledge yet to really make an impact. It's definitely something I plan on continuing into residency and my career, so I wanted to poll all of you and see what residency programs there are that really support resident global health work and have a lot of connections made in the field.

I ultimately would like to do EMS/ prehospital outcomes work in Asia.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 2nd year medical student pretty dead set on heading into EM in a few years.
what residency programs there are that really support resident global health work and have a lot of connections made in the field.

There are many, particularly in NYC. That said, why don't you ask this question again in a year or two when/if you definitely decide on EM after starting your clinical rotations? I'm not saying this to be an ass, but based on your question there is literally no reason whatsoever that you need to know this information at this point in your life. From your post history, it looks like you're busy prepping for step 1. Go focus on that. It will serve you infinitely better than worrying about the finer details of random residency programs.

Reactions: 1 user