GPA about to get wrecked

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Teleologist

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've been slacking a lot this semester and I just feel no motivation. I'm a 3rd year and so far my GPA has been perfect. This semester however is going to change my GPA (yeah, wreck was probably a bit of an exaggeration) ... I'm looking at maybe a B/C in Physics II w/ calculus and maybe an B in Mechanistic Biochemistry. Oops.

So:

1) These are relatively high level courses and at least one is rather critical for med schools ... how is this going to affect me?

2) I really don't feel like trying in either course ... should I just accept a B/C in Physics II and a B in Biochem? Or should I pull my act together and try to get something higher? I hate to say this but it feels like I've been working hard for a few years now and I sorta "deserve" a break ... crap attitude of course and not something I'd express at all to the adcoms but that's what in my head. I just don't have any motivation for school left in me ... most of my focus has been channeled into gymming and club sports and just having fun in general. I'm trying also to make the club sport I'm in a bigger part of my app cause I definitely don't want to walk into the room with the adcoms and have them all think "ANTI-SOCIAL ONE TRICK HORSE *AHEM* NERD."

I'm serious about this. Yeah I'm a bit salty that my winning streak is about to come to a close but on the other hand I'm just like who cares, lots of people get into med schools without perfect GPAs. Plus studying less (read: not studying) and doing club sports instead is fun.

So talk some sense into me - is my defeatist attitude acceptable?