Grades after Graduation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wasp973

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this post and a super thank you for replying. To give a little background I am a recent grad with a BS in Bio and, while that may seem more traditional, I wasn't actually a Bio major until my 3rd year of college. I was previously in poly sci and, after finding out the subject matter was boring to me, I made the switch from the lowest credit major on my campus to the highest. After making the switch, my interest became my major, my major became my minor and my life became hectic. I started by taking max credits, attempting to get involved in research (long wait lists with little demand for juniors/seniors new to the department), and struggling to have some EC's on the side. It seemed like I was doing everything possible to get into the sciences. I was able to do some literary research on novel leukemia treatments and presented 3 different projects at different conferences. This combined with my coursework opened me to not only medicine, but research in the industry as well. The biggest issue I ended up having upon graduation was my grades. I graduated with a cGPA of 3.2 and sGPA of 2.9.

What I'm trying to wrap my head around is the various ways that I can better those numbers as a graduate. Regardless of if I decide to go into MD/DO or into research with a MS or PhD, I feel my biggest speed bump will be my GPA.