help needed: what should i do after being being dismissed from pharmacy school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tanihana

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I really need some advices.

To be frank, I was a good student, however during my 3rd year in school, I got some personal problems and got Ds for four of my classes. Even though my GPA is 3.1, I got dismissed from pharm school.

I tried to petition to the school committee and then to the dean, but nothing helps. They insisted this is their policy. The more I fight to stay in the school, the firmer their decision.

Honestly, I really want to complete the studies since I am not as young as you folks. I talked to some people about transfering to another pharm school, but they said i would need a "letter of good standing" from the dean which I don't think it's possible to get.

Does anyone know anyone suffering from similar situation? Can they do a transfer or you just re-apply? If they can transfer, how? I really need some help to get back to school.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know I would have said it the same way Caverject did, but I'd keep working on it - definitely.

Start back with when your issues began. Did you go to someone in the school at that time? What did they tell you to do? Did you do that? If so, then you can demonstrate you sought assistance & followed through on the expectations given you. That means you can then go back to that original person and now ask advice on what methods or means are in yours, that individuals or anyone's power to help you get back into school.

You may need to agree to retake a year, fall back a year, do some other remedial work. If your issues were of a mental health or physical health nature, they may want periodic health updates to be sure you're still emotionally & physically capable to move forward.