Help: What does an MCAT study day look like?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

To be MD

Med School Or Bust
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have stopped my full-time job and started studying for the MCAT in April.

I have my materials (EK, TBR 2015, and a whole lot of VR workbooks), but I am still getting into the swing of things, as I started studying Monday...

Basically, SDN, what does a typical "MCAT study day" look like? Do you sit and read for an hour, relax 5 minutes, and come back to do it again? Is there a strict regiment you follow?

I just have never studied 8-10 hours a day for 3 months, and I want to hear what others have done. Please help :).

Members don't see this ad.

Get your content review done in about 5-6 weeks.... Take organized notes (like a notebook for each section) that later in your preparation you can review (so say you can commit a whole day later to brushing up on all the biochem by reading your biochem notebook)..... Efficiency is key at the end..

For the next 5-6 weeks you need to get your hands on practice exams and do as many as possible while also doing content review....
Pretty much Eat, Sleep, Breath MCAT for the 3 months you are preparing

Reactions: 1 user
Get your content review done in about 5-6 weeks.... Take organized notes (like a notebook for each section) that later in your preparation you can review (so say you can commit a whole day later to brushing up on all the biochem by reading your biochem notebook)..... Efficiency is key at the end..

For the next 5-6 weeks you need to get your hands on practice exams and do as many as possible while also doing content review....
Pretty much Eat, Sleep, Breath MCAT for the 3 months you are preparing

I just started on the third so I've been trying to just adjust and get into the mindset but is 5-6 weeks normal? I feel like I'm going really slow with content review.