MD Help with school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Labkid

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've never made one of these threads so I don't know all the information you guys would like to see but I'll put up everything I know off-hand and supply more as you ask for it.

cGPA 3.253 sGPA 3.57

I have not taken the MCAT (Will take on OCT. 25th) and was told you can apply and they will wait for the scores to come in. I am shooting for at least a 32 and have gotten 30 on the practice so I am still studying hard.

I have 1 more year (this & next semester) before I am done with university. I am aiming to do some volunteering hopefully right after I receive my scores (if satisfactory) just in case I don't make it in this time. This way I'll have started on volunteer hours already for next app process.

Shadowing: CV (6hrs), Gastro (20-30hrs), Peds (20-30hrs), Trauma (80+hrs)
Volunteer: None (I have e-mail, called multiple times they don't tend to reply to me, will keep trying)
Research: Will be doing a 3-4 credit hour research for a semester in a E-Microscope lab

I know the professors from which I want a letter of recommendation from, all of whom have previously written me great rec letters previously and have agreed to write me one again at any time I need it. All I need to do is ask. (2 science professors, 1 non-science)

I don't know if it makes much a difference but the resident I shadow I have gotten to know pretty well. I only get to shadow him on call so it's always trauma but I could ask him to write me a letter of recommendation.

Current School List: (Haven't looked much further than SC since money is an issue for me)

• MUSC
  • USC Medicine Greenville
  • USC Medicine

Couple of things about me:
  • Started as Undeclared Averaged a GPA of around 3.3 all years to 1st Junior semester b/c I didn't know what I wanted at the time