MD & DO Here goes nothing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LabDoc33

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well I dont have my MCAT yet so I know that there cant be a whole lot to be said, I plan on taking it this January before they roll out the new 2015 one. Lets say I score average/greater then average, I'm taking a MCAT crash course self directed post-bacc this summer and fall. I feel like I can do well on it I am an extremely strong test taker.

I am graduating this May from a small liberal arts college in Maryland, I have a 3.41 overall GPA with a 3.2 science GPA. My overall and science are so low from that damn freshmen year(straight C's), and a little bit of sophomore year. I decided to make college worth my time and got a 4.0 for the last two years.

I majored in Medical Laboratory Science(where I got most of my A's in), with a minor in bio and psych. I worked in a hospital lab performing tests and releasing results to doc's during my last two years as an undergrad. I have about 200 hours of random community service scattered throughout college, but no leadership. Deans list for the last two years, won scholarships, etc. I know I will have phenominal letters of recommendation from my science professors.

Should I bother trying MD or look at straight DO schools's?

Members don't see this ad.

I would plan on applying to DO schools regardless of what your MCAT ends up as. If you happen to knock it out of the park, you can mix in a bunch of MD schools as well. If you get an average MCAT, I would go heavy on the DO schools. It really depends on the MCAT score at this point, but as you probably know, your GPAs are more in line with DO school averages.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm majoring in medical lab sciences too elsewhere (currently a sophomore). I was wondering how working in the clinical lab looks on your application because it's clinical experience that is not geared towards patient interaction.