High Dat/Low GPA from Harvard...need advice!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HarvardNY

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm a recent Harvard graduate and I'm currently applying to dental school. I had a 3.1 GPA (I was basically a straight B student) and extremely high DAT scores (25+ all sections except 21 PAT). I was a mathematics major and took several graduate school courses as I thought I was going to be in academia instead of medicine/dentisry. I'm also a black female if that makes any difference (ie. not your average mathematics major). What do you think schools will think? Does taking rigorous course load at Harvard give me any slack for having a low GPA?

Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Good job, I hope you don't apply to the schools we all applied ;) jk.
Great score and Harvard graduate = getaway to Harvard easily :0 IMO

Members don't see this ad :)
African Americans are Under -represented minorities. It helps a lot.
Why do you have a 3.1? Is that after the inflation?
What about your undergrad gpa?
good luck

if that is your real dat, then wow, congrats. not sure what adcoms will think though, since your gpa is lacking. perhaps you're just a good test taker?
i'm not sure how they will look at you being a harvard alum. with your stats, i'd say you're sitting pretty with a few schools, perhaps UoP (favors high DATs).
good luck.

As a black female with 25+ DAT, you should have no trouble at Meharry and Howard.

i would say go to harvard, you should be a shoe in at most schools no?

where are you applying???