High-school student: Question concerning careers and where to find opportunities.

Kat2122

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in 9th grade. In math and science I'm a sophomore (soon to be junior), and considering different possibilities for the future- all science related, because I would consider that my passion. In that way, I'm pretty ambitious... I've looked into different careers and graduate degrees and the like, and recently added Physician scientist to my list because I am really intrigued by it- as of now I'm leaning towards an md/phd program with a graduate degree in either behavioral or translational neurology, any suggestions? Unfortunately, I live in an area where science is extremely under-appreciated and scarcely found, so it is a little bit difficult to find experience, volunteer spots, and internships. It doesn't help that I am advanced ( if I were not advanced, I would be doing 7th grade work, with my age-group peers), and not eligible for many things. Anyone who has advice to offer concerning the age gap, finding experiences, classes that I should take, and other careers that you think prominent, please share! Thank you so much in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So you're currently in middle school? It's great that you're thinking ahead. Right now, do anything you can to better your chances for a good undergrad research institution with a medical school (if that's the kind of environment you want). Take all the AP or IB classes you can -- especially psych if available (which is a good introduction to basic neuroscience). Anything that covers some college pre-reqs gets you in a good spot to start taking more interesting and advanced classes early in your college career.