Hopeless?...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medical8

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current pre-med student who can graduate within a year. My GPA is embarrassingly low, but I have always had the dream and goal to become a doctor by entering an MD school. Cumulative ~3.0 and sGPA ~2.6 at the moment. I have the opportunity to bring both up over the next year or so.

I have let myself be distracted by other things in life throughout college, and unfortunately have at times lost sight of my ultimate goals. As the end of college draws nearer, I am getting more and more nervous about my chances. I have retaken several classes already, and I am sure for a lot of you this sounds absolutely ridiculous that I am still trying, but I know what I want and will do whatever it takes to do it. I have yet to take the MCAT.

My question is, is it really possible for me to get into an MD program at this rate? If not, how can I better change my mindset to DO possibilities when I have dreamed MD for so long. I have nothing against DO schools at all, but it's hard to change your mentality when you have been set in something for so long...

I am new to this site but I'm sure many of you have heard this story before, and I appreciate honesty over being pumped with sunshine.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a current pre-med student who can graduate within a year. My GPA is embarrassingly low, but I have always had the dream and goal to become a doctor by entering an MD school. Cumulative ~3.0 and sGPA ~2.6 at the moment. I have the opportunity to bring both up over the next year or so.