How am I doing so far on my road to medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ieatcantaloupe

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello people of SDN! it's my first time posting here so bear with me :D

I am currently in the process of completing my prereqs for medical school so far I have competed
-> 1 semester of biology: A-
-> 1 semester of Chemistry: B+
-> 1 semester of psychology: A
->1 semester of sociology: B+
-> 1 semester of statistics: A
-> 1 semester of calculus: A-

My current GPA is a 3.44 but this is my grade without factoring community classes I need to transfer over to my university so my GPA is closer to a 3.5 [I messed up my sophomore year] :(

I have two more years until I graduate and complete the rest of my prerequisites and degree so there is definitely room to bring my GPA up!
I plan on applying to medical school in 2019, my focus being on applying to DO schools because I like their mission of evaluating the patients overall well-being such as factoring their environment and lifestyle it seems more holistic and I like that aspect a lot.

Extracurriculars I am currently involved in:

->nutrition club on campus which provides awareness to healthy lifestyles and eating for students on campus
->volunteering at a community farm in an undeserved area which focuses on providing awareness to healthy eating
-> Volunteering at my university's food pantry to provide food for college students
-> I am doing clinical search with an ER doctor at my local hospital 4 hours per week for a total of 2 years and by the end of it I'll have 400+ hours of clinical experience
-> I am a part of the Science Educational Equity program at my college designed for minority students to help us give us a pathway toward professional careers, being a part of this program I sometimes go out to disadvantaged schools to do mentoring and tutoring.