How am I doing so far?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Albino Dino

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

First poster here. To give you a little bit of background, I am a Canadian student who is planning to apply to one of the few American medical schools who don't consider Canadians to be international. I have wanted to be a doctor my whole life and was wondering if you could give me some feedback!

1st year:

Marks:
If the semester ended now I would have a 4.0 cGPA

ECs:
Started a rugby club at my school, and organized games in the B division league. Acted as player-coach
Campus police - bounced all of the campus parties and due partrols and vehicle ticketing one night a week
Just today got hired in a biology lab for 8 hours per week (since rugby is ending I'm not worried about time management)

Thanks for the input

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Doing well, continue to excel in your coursework and start doing some clinical volunteering. Does not have to be much, just a couple of hours a week so you can make an arguement that you know what healthcare is about.

After about a year of that start shadowing, so you can argue that you know what it's like to be a doctor versus just be a member of the healthcare team. You need to make the argument eventually of why not an RN/PA/NP, especially considering in many places the lines between what an MD/DO can do and what these "midlevels" can do is being more and more blurred.

Good luck and great start.

Good start. You have a long way to go. Keep your marks up and continue your extracurricular involvement while doing so. It wouldn't hurt to plan out all four years of college for yourself one day, including courses needed to graduate, when, and for what major you are going to go. Most importantly, enjoy your time in college, it's far too short.