How Are These Ideas For "Obstacle Overcome" Essay?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheBossDoctor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I am trying to write the essay about an obstacle I've overcome and what I learned and how I coped with it. I was wondering how these ideas?

1. I grew up and lived in the same town throughout my entire childhood (birth to age 18), and I ended up going to college across the country (2,000+ miles away). So in addition to living on my own for the first time, I was in a completely new place. Basically, moving out there and getting adjusted to the new environment was pretty challenging. I feel like I grew from that experience and I can talk about that, and there were different coping methods that I used that I could talk about.

2. During my junior year of college, I studied abroad in a country where I initially did not know about the language at all. This was also my first time alone in a foreign country. While this is a more foreign environment than in #1, I already had experience living on my own for 3 years, so I feel like this might not seem as much of a challenge (and to be honest it wasn't as big). Another con to this is that I mention this experience in my diversity essay, so if a school asks for the diversity essay in addition to this obstacle question, it would be repetitive. The only main pro I see for this essay is that it is more unique than #1.

3. In one of my clubs, I was an officer, and I did have occasional challenges with my position. Nothing major, but they were still obstacles nonetheless. I can talk about the coping methods I used, but not much about what I learned or how I grew. I feel like I have less to talk about here. Also, I find myself talking about this club in a lot of other places (diversity essay, AMCAS personal statement, and most meaningful experience on AMCAS), so I feel like I should not write about this club again.