How can a specialization help your career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tmss011223344

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Pardon my ignorance. I am new to the idea of becoming a veterinarian. I heard that veterinarians can teach at a vet school if they have a PhD or if they have a specialization under their belt. My question is if it is parallel to the specialization that human physicians do? How would it further a veterinarians career to specialize in animal behavior? Are there positions that require a specialization? Also, if you just go through veterinary school and do not complete graduate studies are you limited to a GP?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

Pardon my ignorance. I am new to the idea of becoming a veterinarian. I heard that veterinarians can teach at a vet school if they have a PhD or if they have a specialization under their belt. My question is if it is parallel to the specialization that human physicians do? How would it further a veterinarians career to specialize in animal behavior? Are there positions that require a specialization? Also, if you just go through veterinary school and do not complete graduate studies are you limited to a GP?

Thank you.

Veterinary school IS a graduate degree. If you so choose, you may pursue an internship (1 year) followed by a residency (3 years, usually). A few residencies don't require an internship but most do. Some specialties that can be pursued include cardiology, dermatology, dentistry, ophthalmology, SA or equine surgery, SA or equine internal medicine, lab animal medicine, clinical or anatomic pathology... you get the point. Behavior is less common. There are a few places that do offer an animal behavior residency program.