How can I make extra money from honorariums / gifts as a resident?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Entol

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Medscape just sent me a $50 Amazon.com gift card through email. I also get a few offers occasionally that ask me to take a survey because I'm a physician and they'll give me a gift card at the end of it.

How can I cash in on gifts and honorariums as a resident like this? Where do you guys go to find these deals? I certainly don't mind making a junk Gmail account and giving my name to any idiot company who believes that a $100 gift card will change my prescribing practices in any way.

I'd love to find out how other people are using these offers to their advantage. If possible, it'd be just peachy if we could avoid the "it's a slippery slope!" replies to this question. My only regret is that I didn't give Medscape 15 fake email addresses so I could buy few month's work of groceries at Amazon. My hope is that we have a thread of easy deals physicians can get based solely on our degrees so we can start making some extra cash early, especially ones that we can sign up for quickly online.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
It seems like a lot of work for a couple hundred dollars. I'd rather save the same amount by not having a TV (no cable) and no smartphone. That saves $100-$120 per month.

Epocrates Honors is another well established program. Most surveys require you to be board-certified in your specialty and in active practice however.

There are all sorts of non-clinical ways to make supplemental income. Market research surveys and focus groups only represent a small fraction of what's out there.

Has anyone tried http://www.truthoncall.com ?

Looks easy, just reply to text messages. You can get up to 30/month and they pay $10 each. An NPI is required to sign up, so I would think residents would be eligible.