How common is loan repayment in benefits packages?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ImNotBritish

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an EM intern currently on IBR. I had planned to put a few hundred dollars a month toward my principal during residency to knock the balance down. Then I saw an SDN post where someone mentioned that so many attending positions offer loan repayment that it can be a waste to try to pay down principal while a resident. It suggested putting extra money during residency elsewhere (roth, 401k, somewhere? ) so as not to waste this potential future benefit. Is loan repayment really that rampant, specifically in EM? I thought I was being proactive and all, but maybe I'm misguided. Can anyone give insight on this?

Members don't see this ad.

Oops- meant to put this in the EM forum. If a mod is available to move it for me, I'd appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am an EM intern currently on IBR. I had planned to put a few hundred dollars a month toward my principal during residency to knock the balance down. Then I saw an SDN post where someone mentioned that so many attending positions offer loan repayment that it can be a waste to try to pay down principal while a resident. It suggested putting extra money during residency elsewhere (roth, 401k, somewhere? ) so as not to waste this potential future benefit. Is loan repayment really that rampant, specifically in EM? I thought I was being proactive and all, but maybe I'm misguided. Can anyone give insight on this?

There are definitely deals out there, but they are typically in less desirable locations and may not cover as much as you think.