How do admissions perceive aspiring astronauts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I mention my dreams of becoming an astronaut?

• Total voters

imtotallynotbradpitt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

first time posting :)
I've wanted to be an astronaut ever since around the time I finished high school. I am an incoming third year now at UCLA/UC Berkeley (not saying which to be anonymous). I really would love to talk about my professional goals to adcoms but how would it be perceived? A part of me think it would be a bad thing since they might be inclined to wonder "if you want to be an astronaut, why are you sitting here asking us to accept you to be a doctor".

If it matters - i've made sure to show that I take my dreams very seriously. grades are decent (3.75 cgpa and climbing), im studying 3rd year russian this fall alongside all my pre-med req, etc..

Thanks for your opinions SDN!

-imtotallynotbradpitt

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone!

I've wanted to be an astronaut ever since around the time I finished high school. I am an incoming third year now at UCLA/UC Berkeley (not saying which to be anonymous). I really would love to talk about my professional goals to adcoms but how would it be perceived? A part of me think it would be a bad thing since they might be inclined to wonder "if you want to be an astronaut, why are you sitting here asking us to accept you to be a doctor".

If it matters - i've made sure to show that I take my dreams very seriously. grades are decent (3.75 cgpa and climbing), im studying 3rd year russian this fall alongside all my pre-med req, etc..

-imtotallynotbradpitt
@familyaerospace for his perspective.

Reactions: 1 user
if you want to be an astronaut, why are you sitting here asking us to accept you to be a doctor

Reactions: 10 users
Members don't see this ad :)