How Do You Buy A House?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

breaker1919

Scut Monkey
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year medical student, and I would like to buy a house after Match in March. I do not have a down payment. Does anyone know how loans work for medical students becoming residents? Any suggestions/tips? Do I even have a chance to buy a house without a down payment?

Members don't see this ad.

I was looking at the resident information section of a residency I'm planning to apply for next year, and one of things they say is that student loan deferments are only for one year at a time because they're based on income (and, presumably, salaries can change year to year). I know that most, or at least some, mortgage lenders will not consider student loan debt that is in deferment for at least one year. Has the fact that you can't have a deferment for longer than a year at a time created problems for anyone?

Members don't see this ad :)
No it has not, although now many residents will not be eligible for deferment this year and will have to go into forbearance which I believe is the same deal with lenders.

Thanks for the reply. The finance/investment section has a ton of great information--I'm just sorry I didn't see it sooner!

Why is are fewer residents qualifying for deferment? Did the percentage of monthly income change? I'm just wondering because based on my rough estimate of my monthly payment and current resident stipends, I'd easily qualify for deferment this year.

Huh. I hadn't seen that--thanks for pointing it out.