How do you guys have so many publications?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sarahss

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How do people on here have so many publications from research? I've been working at a lab for 2 years and have nothing yet.. PI has been talking about getting of the projects I worked on published but it has been getting pushed back a lot since they're busy with other stuff

How were you guys so successful? luck?

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Most of the applicants with publications use a loose definition of the word "publication".

Members don't see this ad :)
The percentage of applicants with meaningful publications is very low, but perhaps this is an overrepresented group on SDN. A greater number have poster presentations, conference proceedings, etc. I wouldn't worry too much if your research hasn't led to a publication; you are in the majority.

less than 1% of people who say they have publications here are bulls***ing.

Most of the applicants with publications use a loose definition of the word "publication".
What do you mean by this? I would hope most people understand that you must be a listed author of an article in a peer-reviewed journal to be "published." Abstracts, poster presentations, conference presentations, etc don't count.

What do you mean by this? I would hope most people understand that you must be a listed author of an article in a peer-reviewed journal to be "published." Abstracts, poster presentations, conference presentations, etc don't count.
You and I think so, but I've seen so many applicants with stuff in undergraduate research "journals" or posters listed as publications.

How do people on here have so many publications from research? I've been working at a lab for 2 years and have nothing yet.. PI has been talking about getting of the projects I worked on published but it has been getting pushed back a lot since they're busy with other stuff