Menu Icon Search
Close Search

About the ads

1. If you prefer the SDN Blue style, go to the bottom left of the page and select "SDN Blue"

How do you take off arch bars?

Discussion in 'Dental Residents and Practicing Dentists' started by The TX OMS, 05.07.06.

1. Thanks to Crack the NBDE
  1. The TX OMS

The TX OMS This is CardsFan's Mother

Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Local or no local? As an intern I never gave local. Now I give the patient the option and about 80% ask for local. Lately I've been removing arch bars in the OR at the end of the case instead of leaving them for the clinic monkeys (interns like fowl language and jstars).

I tell people to pick how they want it done. If they choose local they have to stay still while I block their entire mouth. If they choose no local I tell them I will stop at anytime and numb them up, but if they refuse the shots they MUST stay still while I pull the wires. One guy kept sitting up after every wire. I got pissed and sent him home for a week after removing one quadrant of interdental wires. The guy had half an archbar flopping around his mouth when he left.
  2. scalpel2008

scalpel2008 beep beep beep...smash

Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 2+ Year Member