How has PT changed since becoming DPT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted671726

I am in my first year of PT school and I am aware that PT schools have changed to DPT in recent years. This being a transition time, I was wondering 2 main questions:

1) How has the actual job changed since going from MPT to DPT?

• Responsibility
  • Autonomy
  • Salary
  • Etc.
  • What is the end-goal of becoming DPT?
2) How has school changed since going from MPT to DPT?
  • Length
  • What classes were added that makes it a doctorate instead of a masters
  • Etc.
What are your guys' thoughts? For context, can you also mention your current position and how long you have been working?

Members don't see this ad.

I am in my first year of PT school and I am aware that PT schools have changed to DPT in recent years. This being a transition time, I was wondering 2 main questions:

• Responsibility
  • Autonomy
  • Salary
  • Etc.
  • Length
  • Etc.
What are your guys' thoughts? For context, can you also mention your current position and how long you have been working?

We now do one more year of school do the exact same job as someone with a master's degree, so you tell me the difference.

From a credit load stand point the MPT was busting at the seams. It was not a big jump to the DPT curriculum.

There are plenty of threads discussing this topic.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you don't mind, could you give me a link or title to these threads?

• Responsibility
  • Autonomy
  • Salary
  • Etc.
  • Length
  • Etc.

I am still an SPT so take this for what its worth.

Salary has not changed.

School costs have doubled.

Time in school has increased including demands.

Reimbursements have decreased, work and patient load has increased.

Not all these are due to the DPT changes though.

Reactions: 1 user